Compared with CAT 2025, the reported changes are the host (IIM Indore) and the fee (Rs 2,700 and Rs 1,350). The pattern, marking, syllabus and eligibility are reported as unchanged. If you prepared for last year’s CAT, you do not need to relearn the paper.
Changed
| Item | CAT 2025 | CAT 2026, as reported |
|---|---|---|
| Conducting institute | IIM Kozhikode | IIM Indore |
| Fee, general/OBC/EWS | Not stated in our source | Rs 2,700 |
| Fee, SC/ST/PwD | Not stated in our source | Rs 1,350 |
Not changed
- Computer-based test of 120 minutes with three sections, 40 minutes each, and no switching between sections
- Question types: MCQs and typed-in answers (TITA)
- Marking: +3 for a correct answer, -1 for a wrong MCQ, no negative marking for TITA
- Syllabus: no additions or deletions reported
- Eligibility: bachelor’s degree with at least 50% (45% for SC, ST, PwD). Final-year students can apply
Key dates, as reported
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification | 25 July 2026 |
| Registration opens | 3 August 2026 |
| Registration closes | 22 September 2026 (Careers360). Cracku gives 15 September |
| Admit card | 4 to 29 November 2026 |
| Exam | Sunday, 29 November 2026 |
| Result | First week of January 2027 (expected) |
What it means for you
Nothing in the paper changed, so your mocks from earlier years and from mock providers still apply. Use the time on section timing and review. See the 7-week plan.
Where this doesn’t apply
The CAT 2025 fee is inferred by one portal and not stated in the source we read. Portals disagree on the registration close date. We use the 22 September date in other posts because it comes from the more detailed article, but confirm it on the official site.
Careers360, “CAT 2026 notification out: what changed and what stayed exactly the same”. Cracku’s CAT 2026 date page for the alternative registration close date. Third-party. We could not open iimcat.ac.in.